Transfer Dashboard Ownership

Dashboards have a single owner. Sysdig Monitor allows administrators and dashboard owners with administrator permissions to transfer the ownership of a dashboard within the UI.

There are several reasons for assigning a new owner to dashboards.

  • The dashboard owners are no longer in control of the dashboard data.

  • Administrators require to update the dashboard settings or fix how data is displayed.

General Guidelines

  • When a user is deleted, any shared dashboards they own or have created will be preserved by default.

  • The administrator can transfer only the dashboards that are shared by other users. Private dashboards cannot be seen and therefore cannot be transferred.

  • Transferring ownership can only happen one dashboard at a time.

  • When editing a user, the administrator can specify to transfer dashboards to a new owner.

  • Before changing the dashboard ownership,

    • It is a good practice to ensure that the new owner is part of the team the previous owner is part of. The administrator can preview the teams that will no longer be part of before confirming the transfer.

      The new owner need not be part of any teams the previous owner was part of. In this case, the dashboard will be transferred to the new owner but will no longer be shared with any team. The dashboard will become a private dashboard.

    • A shared dashboard will be visible only to the teams that the new owner is not part of.

Transfer Ownership

  1. On the Dashboards tab, select the relevant dashboard from the left-hand panel.

  2. Click the Settings (three dots) icon for the dashboard.

  3. Select Transfer Ownership.

    transfer-ownership.png

    The Transfer Dashboard Ownership page is displayed.

  4. Select a new user from the drop-down.

  5. If everything looks ok, click Transfer.

    The teams indicated with cross-out text are the ones that had access to the dashboard earlier and will lose access to it after the transfer.

    The dashboard will also be visible to all the teams that the new owner is part of. If you are not part of the teams that the new owner is a member of, you will no longer have the visibility to the dashboard.