This the multi-page printable view of this section. Click here to print.

Return to the regular view of this page.

  • 1:
    • 2:

      Sharing New Dashboards

      Dashboards can be shared internally among team members, with other teams, within the wider organization, or publicly, by configuring a public URL for the dashboard.

      As an owner of a dashboard, you can share the dashboard with any team and provide the Viewer or Collaborator access permission.

      Access Levels in Dashboard

      The RBAC-based permissions determine how users can interact with Dashboards. They establish what capabilities are allowed or denied for a user or a team. For more information on RBAC rules, see RBAC Rules for Dashboards.

      The table below summarizes the various ways a dashboard can be shared and effective permissions for users.

      Who can share/copyDashboard InstanceTeam/User who has accessCan ReadCan Edit
      Share with current TeamDashboard CreatorSame dashboard instanceCurrent team members onlyAll members of the teamEdit users of the team
      Share publicly as URLAny Edit User of the teamSame dashboard instanceAnyone with URL (does not have to by Sysdig user)AnyoneAnyone with URL (does not have to by Sysdig user) with Scope variables
      Copy to My TeamsAny Edit User of the teamDuplicate Copy of the dashboardCurrent team members onlyAll members of the teamEdit users of the team

      Share a Dashboard with Teams

      Dashboards can be shared across a user’s current team or a selected set of teams, allowing other team members to view the dashboard, as well as edit the panels if they have edit permissions within the team.

      If a dashboard has been shared with another team, a user within that team can then copy it to make it their own if they wish.

      To share a dashboard:

      1. Select the dashboard you want to share.

      2. Click the Dashboard Settings (three dots) icon and select Dashboard Settings.

      3. In the Dashboard Settings page, use the Shared With drop-down.

      4. Select one of the three options:

        • Not Shared: If selected, the specified Dashboard cannot be shared with a team or selected team the owner is a member of.

        • All Teams: If selected, the owners of the Dashboard can share with all the teams that they are part of.

        • Selected Teams: If selected, the owner of the Dashboard can share with a selected list of teams. You can select one of the available teams in the drop-down, and select member permission:

          • View Only: This permission allows members to view the Dashboard.

          • Collaborator: A collaborator can edit the Dashboard.

      Enable Public Sharing

      Dashboards can be shared outside of the internal team by using public URLs. This allows external users to review the dashboard metrics while restricting access to changing panels and configurations.

      The scope parameters, including scope variables, are included in the Dashboard URL. External users with a valid link can change the scope parameters without having to sign in. They can edit either on the UI or in the URL. The scope parameters are passed to the standard request header, consisting of a question mark, followed by the parameter name, an equal sign, and the parameter value. To edit a parameter in the URL, simply replace it with the desired one.

      1. Select the dashboard you want to share.

      2. Click the Dashboard Settings (three dots) icon and select Dashboard Settings.

      3. In the Dashboard Settings page, enable the Public Sharing slider.

        When enabled, the dashboard is visible with scope parameters to anyone with the link. If this setting is disabled, the link will no longer work, and the setting will need to be re-enabled and shared again in order for the dashboard to be accessed.

      4. Copy the public sharing URL for sharing.

      1 -

      RBAC Rules for Dashboards

      The table below summarizes the role-based permissions.

      Owner Permissions

      Roles

      Owner Permissions

      User Roles

      Administrator

      A user owning a dashboard will now have three different team sharing options:

      • Not Shared

      • Share with all the teams that the owner is part of

      • Share with a selected list of teams

      For the last two options, the owner can pick the type of access: Collaborator (with edit rights) or View only.

      Regular User (non-administrator user)

      Team Roles

      Advanced user

      Standard user

      Team manager

      View-only user

      Not applicable.

      Owner Permissions

      When a user decides to share a dashboard with a set of teams, they’ll only be able to pick teams that they are members of.

      The table below summarizes what you can do with a shared dashboard.

      User Permissions

      User Permissions

      View Only

      Collaborator

      User Role

      Administrator

      Edit

      An admin can still edit a shared dashboard even if it's shared in view-only mode.

      Edit

      Regular User (non-administrator user)

      View Only

      Team Role

      Advanced user

      Advanced user

      Team manager

      View-only user

      View Only

      User Permissions

      2 -

      Transfer Dashboard Ownership

      Dashboards have a single owner. Sysdig Monitor allows administrators and dashboard owners with administrator permissions to transfer the ownership of a dashboard within the UI.

      There are several reasons for assigning a new owner to dashboards.

      • The dashboard owners are no longer in control of the dashboard data.

      • Administrators require to update the dashboard settings or fix how data is displayed.

      General Guidelines

      • When a user is deleted, any shared dashboards they own or have created will be preserved by default.

      • The administrator can transfer only the dashboards that are shared by other users. Private dashboards cannot be seen and therefore cannot be transferred.

      • Transferring ownership can only happen one dashboard at a time.

      • When editing a user, the administrator can specify to transfer dashboards to a new owner.

      • Before changing the dashboard ownership,

        • It is a good practice to ensure that the new owner is part of the team the previous owner is part of. The administrator can preview the teams that will no longer be part of before confirming the transfer.

          The new owner need not be part of any teams the previous owner was part of. In this case, the dashboard will be transferred to the new owner but will no longer be shared with any team. The dashboard will become a private dashboard.

        • A shared dashboard will be visible only to the teams that the new owner is not part of.

      Transfer Ownership as an Admin

      1. Log in to the Monitor UI.

      2. Select Settings > Users.

      3. Select the user you want to change the ownership.

      4. Select one or multiple Dashboards that you want to assign a new owner.

      5. Click Transfer Ownership.

        The Transfer Dashboard Ownership page is displayed.

      6. Select a new user from the drop-down.

        If the user that you selected is not part of the teams that the Dashboard is shared with, you will see a prompt stating the Dashboard will be unshared with the teams that the new owner is not part of.

      7. If you are satisfied with the changes, click Transfer.

      Transfer Ownership as a User

      1. On the Dashboards tab, select the relevant dashboard from the left-hand panel.

      2. Click the Settings (three dots) icon for the dashboard.

      3. Select Transfer Ownership.

        The Transfer Dashboard Ownership page is displayed.

      4. Select a new user from the drop-down.

      5. If everything looks ok, click Transfer.

        The teams indicated with cross-out text are the ones that had access to the dashboard earlier and will lose access to it after the transfer.

        The dashboard will also be visible to all the teams that the new owner is part of. If you are not part of the teams that the new owner is a member of, you will no longer have the visibility to the dashboard.